Siedle, the specialist for building communication systems, and Jung, the specialist for building technology, have joined forces. Siedle benefits from access to the world of switches and building automation while Jung can rely on Siedle’s experience and innovative strength at the threshold. Both companies retain their respective strengths and identity, but the joint venture has created new opportunities for craftsmen, tradesmen and architects. A new synergy.



»Joining forces but staying independent, that's new«

Gabriele Siedle and Harald Jung on the joint venture between their two medium-sized enterprises – and building communication in the 21st century.

What does “New synergy” stand for?

Gabriele Siedle: Synergy means achieving more together than alone. And “new” means firstly that we are just starting out. Secondly, it means that there has never been a joint venture like this in the industry. The fact that two medium-sized enterprises join forces and bundle competencies while remaining independent is new – and fantastic!

Harald Jung: We are being faced with the demand for interaction between door intercom systems and building systems ever more frequently. “New synergy” offers massive benefits in this respect. At the threshold Jung relies on Siedle; at the same time Siedle door intercom systems are integrated into Jung’s intelligent building technology. We are taking a step towards smart building control.

Why the partnership? And why now?

Harald Jung: Demands on building technology are increasing all the time. New synergy enables both partners to build on their strong positions and expand the scope for possible future joint innovations.

Gabriele Siedle: Actually we should be asking why we didn't do this earlier? We are faced with challenges which did not exist in the past. We have to deal with competitors which did not exist in the past. As medium-sized companies, we don't need to make our lives more difficult, rather we should stick together.

At what stage does the joint venture actually start?

Harald Jung: The basis for the joint venture is the use of “Siedle technology”: this means that our Jung indoor stations will work with all Siedle In-Home systems.

Gabriele Siedle: Jung was looking for a door communication system which would satisfy its own demands for quality. Siedle was given the opportunity to cover demand for counter intercoms. The beginning of the joint venture is marked by considerations as to which products and which developments provide benefits to both of us.

Siedle and Jung are also strong, well-known brands. How do you intend to deal with this?

Gabriele Siedle: With consistency. The brands and the companies will remain independent and separate. We don’t want to merge but simply act together. We have enough evidence to show that a merger will not work. The brand, the design, our own identity and recognition value are all immeasurable assets which we have built up over many years. It is essential that we hold on to them.

Harald Jung: We know that working in harmony and trusting each other provide the basis for excellent services. These values derived from a sense of responsibility and working together in partnership apply to our employees, suppliers, customers and also other joint venture partners. In this respect, we regard the joint venture as a real boon for tradesmen, architects and developers, all of whom benefit from the combined strengths of two medium-sized specialist companies.

You head up companies with long traditions. Is that more of a challenge or actually an opportunity?

Gabriele Siedle: It is the foundation. Jung and Siedle are credible. People know us, they trust us and they appreciate us. We also trust each other and know what we have from each other. With a large concern whose first thought is what can be done more cheaply elsewhere and what we could still manufacture in Furtwagen, we would never have got beyond the first meeting.

Harald Jung: When Albrecht Jung started his business in 1912, he wanted to help shape the future with his ideas. That is why our company’s history is dominated by technology and design innovations. Many of them are now established as classics. Now, this joint venture with Siedle is placed under the same belief. We are helping to shape the future in terms of smart building technology.

Are you planning to work together in other areas or can you imagine doing so?

Harald Jung: We have a commitment to creating benefits for customers, regardless of trends and fashions. We will continue to hold true to our claim “Progress as tradition”. Ongoing trend research and thorough analysis of demand play a major role. If we identify new wishes and demands, new areas of cooperation are certainly conceivable.

Gabriele Siedle: Yes, a whole lot of things are conceivable. Just look at how much intelligence and skill are combined between Jung and Siedle! If we can bundle that, the possibilities are endless. Our synergy is new, but it is far from exhausted.

Synergy effects

The combined strengths of two specialists

Siedle and Jung combine their skills. Four reasons why this is a good idea.

1. Wider, deeper, stronger.

Excellent building communication meets an extensive system world of switches and controls: Siedle has been manufacturing door communication systems for longer than many of its competitors have existed. Jung is a genuine expert in KNX building systems and switches. Together, Siedle and Jung offer the widest, deepest and strongest range of products for building technology in all its guises.

2. The cleverest bus.

The In-Home bus with its superior technology, automated set-up using plug+play and its enormous range of outdoor and indoor call stations is definitely the best choice. The variety of equipment has been even expanded thanks to the joint venture: customer demands for call stations with a switch design can now also be met. Not by Siedle, but by the specialists who understand switches best. Jung indoor stations are 100 percent compatible with the In-Home bus. That is guaranteed by the “Siedle system technology”mark. On the other hand, Siedle building communication can now also be connected to automation systems with KNX. Both sides win – and customers have a whole new range of possibilities.

3. Don’t waste time learning. Get going straight away.

Those who are familiar with the In-Home bus and know how to install Jung systems can immediately make use of the synergy effects. Because there is nothing more they need to know. The processes are the same and all the devices are included in the relevant planning tools, programs and manuals.

4. Responsibility and reliability.

The Siedle and Jung brands have a great deal in common. This includes their absolute loyalty to specialist contractors, their commitment to the highest possible quality, their great care, extensive service and fair dealings with partners. Both companies are medium-sized enterprises who are committed to responsibility, including on a personal basis. These many principles which they share have a long tradition in both companies. Both are completely reliable. That has been the case for many years and it will continue to be in the future.



»What we want is a complete package that works.«

Architect Alexander Brenner and master electrician Josef Schäfer keep working together on joint projects. What are they hoping for from the joint venture between Siedle and Jung?

»The topics of depth, material, quality and function are relevant to us in all areas of design. That is why we do not look for short-lived effects but attempt to achieve timeless elegance and contemporary design. Siedle and Jung meet our own aspirations in many respects. The products supplied by both companies combine durability and design excellence with continuous technical development. I believe that the basic philosophies of Jung and Siedle are a perfect fit and the joint venture will be a real boon for everybody concerned – above all in terms of their overall design and technical solutions.«

Alexander Brenner
Alexander Brenner Architekten, Stuttgart.
Photographs: Zooey Braun Fotografie.

»In the age of bus systems and smartphone apps, it is becoming more and more difficult for us to provide customers with a truly intuitive, functional solution. The lack of compatibility between the building control system and video intercom system has been a particular problem for us in the past. What we want from Siedle and Jung is a complete package that works in which the door communication can be controlled using building technology control panels and apps. I believe that both brands provide the perfect basis for this.«

Josef Schäfer
Master Electrician, Rottenburg.

Siedle, der Spezialist für Gebäudekommunikation, und Jung, der Spezialist für Gebäudetechnik, kooperieren. Siedle gewinnt Anschluss an die Welt der Schalter und Gebäudeautomation; Jung verlässt sich an der Schwelle auf die Erfahrung und die Innovationskraft von Siedle. Beide Unternehmen bewahren ihre jeweiligen Stärken und ihre Identität, aber aus der Zusammenarbeit entstehen neue Möglichkeiten für Handwerk, Handel und Architekten. Eine neue Synergie.


Film


Gespräch

»Kräfte bündeln und dabei unabhängig bleiben, das ist neu.«

Gabriele Siedle und Harald Jung über die Zusammenarbeit ihrer beiden mittelständischen Unternehmen – und Gebäudekommunikation im 21. Jahrhundert.

Wofür steht »Neue Synergie«?

Gabriele Siedle: Synergie bedeutet, gemeinsam mehr zu bewirken als einzeln. Und »neu« heißt einerseits, dass wir gerade damit anfangen. Andererseits, dass es eine Zusammenarbeit wie unsere bisher nicht gibt in der Branche. Dass zwei Mittelständler sich zusammentun, ihre Kräfte bündeln und dabei unabhängig bleiben, das ist neu – und großartig!

Harald Jung: Die Forderung nach einem Zusammenspiel von Türsprechanlage und Gebäudesystemtechnik begegnet uns immer häufiger. Hier bietet die »Neue Synergie« enorme Vorteile. Vor der Schwelle verlässt sich Jung auf Siedle; gleichzeitig werden die Türsprechanlagen von Siedle in die intelligente Haustechnik von Jung eingebunden. Wir gehen einen Schritt in Richtung intelligente Haussteuerung.

Warum die Partnerschaft? Und warum gerade jetzt?

Harald Jung: Die Ansprüche an die Gebäudetechnik werden immer größer. Durch die neue Synergie bauen beide Partner ihre starke Position aus und erweitern den Spielraum für mögliche kommende gemeinsame Innovationen.

Gabriele Siedle: Eigentlich müsste man fragen: Warum erst jetzt? Wir stehen vor Herausforderungen, die es gestern noch nicht gab. Haben es mit Wettbewerbern zu tun, die es gestern noch nicht gab. Wir Mittelständler sollten uns nicht das Leben schwer machen, sondern zusammenhalten.

Wo beginnt die Zusammenarbeit?

Harald Jung: Die Basis der Zusammenarbeit bildet die Verwendung von »Siedle Systemtechnik«. Damit funktionieren die Innenstationen von Jung mit allen In-Home-Anlagen von Siedle.

Gabriele Siedle: Jung war auf der Suche nach einer Türkommunikation, die dem eigenen Anspruch an die Qualität gerecht wird. Siedle bekam die Gelegenheit, die Nachfrage nach Schaltersprechstellen bedienen zu können. Damit beginnt die Zusammenarbeit: mit der Überlegung, welche Produkte, welche Entwicklungen uns beiden nutzen.

Siedle und Jung sind auch starke, bekannte Marken. Wie wollen Sie damit umgehen?

Gabriele Siedle: Konsequent! Die Marken und die Firmen bleiben unabhängig und eigenständig. Wir wollen nicht zusammenwachsen, sondern zusammen wirken. Wir haben genug Anschauungsmaterial dafür, dass eine Vermischung nicht funktioniert. Die Marke, das Design, die eigene Identität und die Wiedererkennbarkeit bilden ein unschätzbares Kapital, das wir in langen Jahren aufgebaut haben. Wir müssen es unbedingt erhalten.

Harald Jung: Wir wissen, dass ein harmonisches Miteinander und Vertrauen die Basis für gute Leistung sind. Diese Werte aus Verantwortung und partnerschaftlicher Zusammenarbeit gelten für unsere Mitarbeiter, Lieferanten, Kunden und auch Kooperationspartner. In diesem Sinne sehen wir die Kooperation als Bereicherung für Handwerk, Architekten und Bauherren – alle profitieren von den vereinten Stärken zweier mittelständischer Spezialisten.

Sie führen Unternehmen mit langer Tradition. Ist das eher eine Herausforderung oder eher eine Chance?

Gabriele Siedle: Es ist die Grundlage! Jung und Siedle sind glaubwürdig. Man kennt uns, man vertraut uns und man schätzt uns. Wir vertrauen uns auch gegenseitig, wissen, was wir aneinander haben. Mit einem Konzern, der als Erstes überlegt, was anderswo billiger geht und was wir in Furtwangen noch produzieren dürfen, wären wir über das erste Gespräch gar nicht hinausgekommen.

Harald Jung: Als Albrecht Jung 1912 seine Firma gründete, wollte er mit seinen Ideen die Zukunft mitgestalten. So ist die Firmengeschichte geprägt von Innovationen in Technik und Design. Viele davon sind bereits zu Klassikern geworden. Jetzt, in der Kooperation mit Siedle, folgen wir dem gleichen Credo. Wir gestalten die Zukunft in puncto intelligente Haustechnik.

Sind weitere Formen der Zusammenarbeit geplant oder vorstellbar?

Harald Jung: Wir fühlen uns dem Kundennutzen, unabhängig von Trends und Moden, verpflichtet. Immer getreu dem Leitgedanken »Fortschritt als Tradition«. Kontinuierliche Trendforschung und gründliche Bedarfsanalyse spielen eine entscheidende Rolle. Sollten sich neue Wünsche und Bedürfnisse ergeben, sind auch neue Einsatzbereiche denkbar.

Gabriele Siedle: Ja, vorstellbar ist vieles. Wenn Sie sich anschauen, wie viel Intelligenz und Können hier bei Jung und Siedle zusammenkommen! Wenn wir das bündeln, ist vieles möglich. Unsere Synergie ist neu, aber noch lange nicht ausgereizt.


Synergieeffekte

Die vereinten Stärken zweier Spezialisten

Siedle und Jung kombinieren ihre Kompetenzen. Vier Gründe, warum das eine gute Idee ist.

1. Breiter, tiefer, stärker.

Exzellente Gebäudekommunikation trifft auf eine umfassende Systemwelt für Schalten und Steuern: Siedle stellt Türkommunikation schon länger her, als es manche Wettbewerber überhaupt gibt. Jung ist der Experte für KNX-Gebäudesystemtechnik und Schalter. Gemeinsam bieten Siedle und Jung das breiteste, tiefste und stärkste Sortiment für die Gebäudetechnik in all ihren Spielarten.

2. Der cleverste Bus.

Am besten fahren Sie mit dem In-Home-Bus: seiner überlegenen Technik, seiner automatisierten Inbetriebnahme mit plug+play und seiner enormen Vielfalt von Sprechstellen außen und innen. Diese Vielfalt wird dank der Kooperation noch einmal größer: Kundenwünsche nach Sprechstellen im Schalterdesign können nun erfüllt werden. Nicht von Siedle – sondern von den Spezialisten, die sich auf Schalter bestens verstehen. Die Innenstationen von Jung sind zu 100 Prozent kompatibel mit dem In-Home-Bus. Das garantiert das Prädikat »Siedle Systemtechnik«. Umgekehrt erhält die Gebäudekommunikation von Siedle Anschluss an die Automation mit KNX. Beide Seiten gewinnen – und die Kunden gewinnen neue Möglichkeiten.

3. Nicht lange lernen. Sofort loslegen.

Wer den In-Home-Bus beherrscht und Technik von Jung installieren kann, zieht sofort Nutzen aus der Synergie. Denn mehr braucht er nicht zu wissen. Die Abläufe sind die gleichen, und alle Geräte sind in die relevanten Planungs-Tools, Programme und Handbücher eingebunden.

www.siedle.de/konfigurator
www.jung.de/konfigurator

4. Verantwortung und Verlässlichkeit.

Die Marken Siedle und Jung haben vieles gemeinsam. Dazu zählen die absolute Fachvertriebstreue, die Verpflichtung zu höchster Qualität, die große Sorgfalt, der umfassende Service und der faire Umgang mit Partnern. Beide Unternehmen sind Mittelständler, die für ihre Verantwortung einstehen – auch persönlich. Diese breite, gemeinsame Basis gründet in beiden Firmen in einer langen Tradition. Auf beide ist Verlass. Seit langem und auch weiterhin.


Produkte


Statements

»Unser Wunsch ist ein funktionierendes Komplettpaket.«

Der Architekt Alexander Brenner und der Elektromeister Josef Schäfer arbeiten immer wieder an gemeinsamen Projekten. Was versprechen sie sich von der Kooperation zwischen Siedle und Jung?

»Die Themen Tiefe, Material, Qualität und Funktion ziehen sich bei uns durch alle Bereiche der Gestaltung. Deshalb suchen wir nicht nach kurzlebigen Effekten, sondern bemühen uns um zeitlose Eleganz und zeitgemäße Modernität. Siedle und Jung entsprechen in hohem Maße unseren eigenen Vorstellungen. Die Produkte beider Unternehmen verbinden Dauerhaftigkeit und Designanspruch mit einer kontinuierlichen technischen Weiterentwicklung. Ich glaube, dass die Grundphilosophie von Jung und die von Siedle sehr gut zusammenpassen und sich durch die Kooperation für alle Beteiligten eine Bereicherung ergibt – vor allem im Hinblick auf gestalterische und technische Gesamtlösungen.«

Alexander Brenner
Alexander Brenner Architekten, Stuttgart. www.alexanderbrenner.de
Bilder: Zooey Braun, Fotografie.

»Im Zeitalter von Bussystemen und Smartphone-Apps wird es für uns immer schwieriger, dem Kunden eine wirklich intuitive und funktionale Lösung zu bieten. Vor allem die fehlende Kompatibilität zwischen Gebäudesteuerung und Videosprechanlage stellte bisher ein Problem für uns dar. Von Siedle und Jung wünschen wir uns ein funktionierendes Komplettpaket, bei dem die Türkommunikation auf Bedienpanels und Apps der Gebäudetechnik bedienbar wird. Ich denke, dass beide Marken hierfür optimale Voraussetzungen mitbringen.«

Josef Schäfer
Elektromeister, Rottenburg. www.elektroschaefer.de